Utopiax

My essay. | August 11, 2006

Alexis Thaler Martin                                                                          0536-XXX Martin 1

0536-XXX

SL English Personal Essay

11 August 2006

 

A Different Perspective

            The world today is full of stereotypes, ranging from the clothes we wear, our religion, our sexuality, even our state of mind. Not many people can escape these days from a label. But, I can say that I am proud of whom I am, and that even though I am diagnosed with OCD, discovering who I really am has changed me to become the unique and witty person I am today.

            OCD (or also known as Obsessive Compulsive Disorder) is a chemical imbalance in the brain, causing the person who is diagnosed with it to stress about menial tasks and ideas that normal people don’t care about. For instance, hand washing was a complete chore for me everyday until I became in control of my actions. It felt as if the time I spent awake in a day was multiplied by 3 caused by all the “rituals” my brain caused me to have. I’ve had this disorder my whole life, but at a young age, I didn’t comprehend what it was, and was never diagnosed with the condition until five years ago. Friends would get infuriated with me easily because I repeated many things around them, and was slowing them down during their day. I felt as if I had no control of myself, and I gave up. People saw me a freak because I constantly wanted to be clean, or was wiping my mouth on my sleeve, believing that I had germs on my mouth that could cause me to get sick.  For awhile, I was a mess. My friends couldn’t rely on me sometimes, and I became depressed. My schoolwork began to take a toll for the worse, and my usual great grades slipped. Teachers started to worry about me, and tried to console me through my troubles. 

Martin 0536-XXX 2

I felt as if I couldn’t talk to anyone…that I was the only one in the world who had this condition.

            I moved to
Daytona Beach when I was in sixth grade, and my parents saw that I was miserable, and I desperately wanted to be like all the other kids in middle school.  They saw this move as a fresh opportunity to begin my life again with new friends.  I started to see a professional about my habits and rituals, and she aided me to discover how to circumvent my habits, and put the extra energy in something positive, like swimming, or pottery.  Also, I discovered that the main trigger to my rituals was extraneous stress. Currently, I try to keep my stress levels to a minimum so that I won’t relapse and become a tortured soul again.

            Discovering that I have OCD has helped me to blossom into the person I am today. I’ve realized that I am not like other people, regarding my style and personality. I’m proud that I have been able to alter my stereotype to something that I can say, hey, I’m me and I’m not going to change. A decent amount of my friends that I have been able to trust know about my disorder, but accept me as I am.  They know that I will always be loyal to them, and if they ever are in trouble, I will be there to save them. I think that being conflicted with OCD has given me an advantage over most people in letting me visualize that everyone on this earth is different and unique, and before we have peace and harmony, we must accept each other’s faults. Then, we can all become free from everything else that is wrong, or “evil” in a sense. OCD makes me think of how lucky I am to be able to still function normally, if not in better condition. I am grateful for how it

 

0536-XXX Martin 3

has made me blossom into a young, respectful lady. Stereotypes may still label me as a nutcase, or a problem person, but, I believe in my heart that I am none of these things,

and that as I accept the fact that I will never be perfect, it doesn’t matter what people think of me. This isn’t a curse; OCD is a blessing.

 

Word Count: 713

Posted in Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Jeremy, I’d like an invite as wellud83dude09nSee ya !n Gabriele Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    Comment by kellerhinton71859 — April 8, 2016 @ 1:23 pm


Leave a Reply

